DOWNLOAD APP: Download JUBAECHO mobile app now available on play store & coming soon to app store.

South Sudan’s Journalists elect new leader

By Manyuon Mayen Manyuon
The Union of Journalists of South Sudan has elected Mr. Oyet Patrick as a new President out of the three candidates who were contesting.
The new President elect garnered 39 votes out of the 48 eligible voters who had qualified to vote.
While announcing the results,  Sapana Abui, the Director General of the Media Authority also declared Mr. Majak Daniel Kuany as a Secretary General and Ms.Yangi Justin as Treasurer.
At least there were three positions contested for. These include President’s seat, Secretary General and Treasurer.
In the Presidency, Mr. John Wulu and Michael Koma had enrolled as running mates. But both got 3 and 6 votes respectively as Mr.Oyet Patrick scored 39.
The Secretary General’s position also saw three applicants namely George Ruot, Ibrahim Awol Nyekir and Majak Daniel Kuany.
Both got 13, 05 and 30 votes respectively.
In the Treasurer’s position, Ms.Yangi Justin garnered 43 votes defeating Mr. Akol Madut Ngong who got 05 votes.
The scores were out of 48 eligible voters who have a membership Identity Card of the Union of Journalists of South Sudan.
Oliver Modi, the outgoing leader appreciated the Journalists for a fair and democratic elections.
“Most of you could say that I have stayed in power for long but If I was to give it to the other people on the road, it could have not reached this level,”he said.
Mr. Oyet Patrick, the incoming President appreciated the Journalists for tasking him to lead the team.
He promised to work for the welfare of the media practitioners across the country.
The full Cabinet will be announced next week on June 2.
Union of the Journalists of South Sudan was formed in 2004 to defend the rights of media practitioners across the country.

Facebook Comments Box