DOWNLOAD APP: Download JUBAECHO mobile app now available on play store & coming soon to app store.
Photo shows SPLM members during National Liberation Council meeting at Freedom Hall, Credit; Jok Solomun

SPLM appoints new members of the political bureau

The Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) has appointed and made changes within it’s top leadership structure.

James Wani Igga, the Vice President for Economic Cluster was last week appointed the first deputy chairman, Daniel Awet Akot and Kuol Manyang Juuk were appointed as deputy chairpersons of the SPLM party led by President Salva Kiir during the convening of the National Liberation Council (NLC) last week in Juba.

The three have been members of the political bureau which is the highest decision making organ of the party. The NLC is the second highest organ that endorses the party dictations.

Chan Del, a member of the SPLM information committee told the Juba Echo on Sunday that the NLC convened to amend the party’s constitution, and also approve the replacement of members who died, defected or are incapacitated in accordance with recommendation in the states and administrative areas.

The NLC approved James Wani Igga as the first deputy chairman, Daniel Awet Akot and Kuol Manyang Juuk as deputy chairpersons respectively.

Other notable appointed members to the political bureau include Tut Gatluak Manime the Presidential Secvurity Advisor, Stephen Dhieu Dau the former minister of finance, Barnaba Marial Benjamin the Minister of Presidential Affairs, and David Yau Yau the former head of Pibor Administrative Area and Louis Lobong Lojore the Governor of Eastern Equatoria State.

The NLC also confirmed Peter Lam Both as the Secretary General and Tulio Odongi as the Deputy Secretary General of the party.

The SPLM Political Bureau meeting in October chaired by President Kiir purged Riek Machar the current First Vice President and former Secretary General Pagan Amum  from the party leadership.

Facebook Comments Box