DOWNLOAD APP: Download JUBAECHO mobile app now available on play store & coming soon to app store.

Eastern Equatoria swears in members of parliament

Some Eastern Equatoria MPs taking the oath of office

By Tapeng Michael Ohure

Members of Parliament of Eastern Equatoria State took the oath of office on Wednesday.

The 92 MPs are from all the parties to the 2018 revitalized peace agreement, including Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-IG, Sudan People’s Liberation Movement in Opposition and South Sudan Opposition Alliance.

Another 8 belonging to Other Political Parties are yet to be named.

The creation of an inclusive State Assembly was a key condition of the 2018 Revitalized Peace Agreement.

“Peace, unity and prosperity is the mission we have undertaken in Eastern Equatoria. It is the mission that brought us together here today in the forefront of the struggle for development and delivering services to our people,” Governor Louis Lobong Lojore said at the event.

The new Speaker of Eastern Equatoria State Parliament, Severino Maira Janus, pledged to strengthen the good working relationship between the parliament and other arms of the government.

Janus called on the people of Eastern Equatoria to rally behind the government in an effort to improve the economy, through engaging in farming activities.

As per the peace deal, the Legislative Assembly is expected to enact laws that will assist the transitional processes, including reforms spelled out in the peace agreement.

The State Parliament is expected to provide oversight and ensure the full implementation of the peace agreement and the constitution.

Facebook Comments Box